Burkart Scholarship

Home/Burkart Scholarship
Burkart Scholarship 2017-08-09T19:34:43+00:00


Will Babcock, 2017 Scholarship Recipient

Will grew up in Panora, Iowa and attended Panorama High School where he played golf and succeeded with a 4 class 2A state appearance winning back to back team state titles his sophomore and junior year! He also placed 4th his freshman year and 3rd his senior year. As an individual, Will was 1st team all state Sophomore through Senior year. Beginning in the fall of 2017, he will attend Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for two years then transfer to a top golf school working towards the professional level. Will was also an active member of the Iowa PGA Junior Tour. Congratulations again Will!

About the Charlie Burkart Scholarship

The Iowa PGA Foundation annually awards a college scholarship in memory of Charlie Burkart, PGA member for 49 years and head professional at the Elmcrest Country Club in Cedar Rapids for 48 years.  The purpose of the scholarship is to assist students in furthering their education. At least one high school graduate will be the 2018 recipient of $1500 per year for four years. Other previously graduated applicants will be reviewed with additional scholarships awarded when possible.

Any graduating high school senior or previous graduate residing within the boundaries of the Iowa PGA Section and the State of Iowa is eligible to apply. The Iowa PGA Section is bounded on the west by U.S. Highway 71 and includes an area of western Illinois from a point north of Quincy, east to near Springfield and directly north. It includes the major cities of Monmouth, Macomb, Galesburg, Moline, Rock Island, Kewanee and Galena. It does not include the cities of Freeport, Springfield or Quincy.

Scholarship winners are selected on the basis of their interest and activity in golf, the potential for future contributions to the game, leadership skills/community involvement, then on their academic/professional ability and financial need.

The Iowa PGA Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2018 Charlie Burkart Scholarship.  Applicants must complete the application and mail to the scholarship committee prior to June 15, 2018.  Applications can be mailed to Iowa PGA Section, 3184 Highway 22, Riverside, IA  52327.  Call 319-648-0026 with any questions.

Each applicant is required to submit the following when applying for the scholarship:

1. High school transcript of work completed and description of any post-secondary academic achievement.

2. Two recommendations – may be from a high school administrator or teacher, a PGA professional or other non-family connections.

3. Applicant must include a self-statement concerning his/her interest in golf, other activities and awards, his/her educational and vocational plans/career goals and financial need.

4. Applicant is requested to send a list of other scholarship they have applied for and those that they have received.

CLICK HERE for 2018 Charlie Burkart Application

Donate to Burkart Scholarship Fund


The Charlie Burkart Story

This below story is included in the Elmcrest Country Club Yearbook as a significant part of its history, as a fond remembrance for those who knew Charlie Burkart and to pass along the story of a much loved man to those who came along later.

Charles Burkart was born on April 8, 1907. Involved in golf at an early age, he became the pro at a course in Iowa City. In early 1930, Charlie borrowed the money to buy the first driving range in Marion. A gentleman by the name of Nick Carter built a daily fee golf course in the community of Kenmore in 1934 and hired Charlie as Head Professional. In July of 1947, several prominent businessmen leased the golf course from Mr. Carter, thus forming Elmcrest Golf & Country Club. By this time the community of Kenmore was known as the Northeast side of Cedar Rapids.

Charlie was there from the very beginning and for 42 years of service to the community and the membership of Elmcrest, retiring in 1975. He married Ethel McDonald on October 31, 1935. The Burkart’s’s had three children, Ted, Al and Lynn. Ethel died in 1981 and Charlie died of cancer at age 74 on December 12, 1983 at Mercy Hospital.

Charlie was an excellent player, known for his flawless swing and record-breaking rounds of golf. One of his greatest contributions to the game was his love of children and his efforts to involve them by organizing youth clinics and programs. Back in the good old days, Charlie spent many of his hours working patiently with junior golfers, diligently teaching them the code of ethic of golf and the skills to play the game. His belief in sharing and passing down the traditional grand old game served to make him one of the great promoters of golf in this entire area.

Charlie was a life member of the Professional Golfers Association of America and Past President of the Iowa Section of the PGA. He truly believed and exemplified the Code of Ethics of the PGA, which states that the name “Professional Golfer” must be a synonym with pledge of honor, service and fair dealing, professional integrity, fidelity to the game, responsibility to employers and employees and others. Charlie lived by these rules.

Today, the memory of Charles Burkart lives on. The Charlie Burkart Scholarship Fund, sponsored by the Iowa Section PGA, was formed in 1984 by his daughter, the late Lynn Hendryx and former Elmcrest professional Larry Hartzell. The Scholarship awards a $1,000 four year college scholarship each year to an Iowa PGA Section high school senior. The criteria for recipients include interest and potential for future contributions to the game of golf.

2017 Burkart Scholarship Application


   Previous Burkart Recipients   
2017 Will Babcock
2016 Nicholas Higgins
2015 Aaron Wirt
2014 Jordan Bowers
2013 Payton Minear
2012 Christian Archer
2011 Dane Worley
2010 Patrick Hagenbucher
2009 Justin McCormick
2008 Michael McCunniff
2007 Christopher Williamson
2006 Brian Siems
2005 Mark Gladson
2004 Nick McCrorey
2003 Logan Beatty
2002 Adam Pritchard
2001 Michael Denklau
2000 Blake Jones
1999 Jeff Gudenkauf
1998 Ryan Coppess
1997 David Loomis
1996 Cory McKim
1995 Tyler Brooks
1994 Brad Cady
1993 Kyle Louvar
1992 Ryan Wedemeyer
1991 Travis Bergan
1990 Jim Jermier
1989 Steven William
1988 Allen McMullen
1987 Brian Coughlin


Donate to Burkart Scholarship Fund